A-levels/Form 6

What is Cambridge A-levels?

"AS-level" stands for "Advanced Subsidary level". "A-level" stands for "Advanced level". Cambridge A-level comprises of two years of study. The first year is for your AS-level and the second year is for A-level. You need to complete subjects on AS-level before you can move on to A-level.

What subjects are available on A-level?

A-level allows students to choose three to four subjects that they are passionate about and therefore allows them to study these subjects in much more detail.
UFSI will be offering the following three faculties on A-level:

  1. Maths
  2. Sciences (Biology/Physics/Chemistry)
  3. Commercials (Accounts/Business/Economics)

These subjects are seen as the simple, strong core subjects that creates capacity to focus and develop important competencies for the 21st century. We do not offer a myriad of shallow, “filler” subjects and therefore the student can focus on deep mastery for a few important subjects that will be most critical for your child’s tertiary career. These include, among others, creative intelligence, critical thinking, and entrepreneurship.

Why choose A-levels?

  • Cambridge is a globally recognised curriculum
  • Exams are set on a high, internationally benchmarked standard
  • It is a great course to prepare students for University

"How Cambridge International A Levels are preparing more students for top universities"More News on the Cambridge schooling system

Making the right pathway choice?

Cambridge IGCSE (Form 3 - Form 4) is seen as the General Education Band. Students can decide to take a Vocational/Diploma pathway, which will be the first exit point or they can decide after IGCSE if they want to continue with an Academic University (Form 5 - Form 6) pathway.

Form 5 offers you a second exit point for SA Universities and Form 6 offers an third exit point for International Universities.

Lower Secondary IGCSE AS-level
SA Matric equivalent
IB2 equivalent
Form 1/Grade 8 Form 2/Grade 9 Form 3/Grade 10 Form 4/Grade 11
Cambridge Vocational exit
Form 5/Grade 12
Cambridge second exit
Form 6/Grade 13
Cambridge third exit
Lower Secondary IGCSE IB Diploma programme

CAPS, IEB, IB or Cambridge?

There are various curricular and graduation options available at schools. A curriculum firstly provides guidance on the content the school teaches. Secondly a curriculum provides the level at which the content should be mastered.
CAPS (National Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statement) is the national curriculum followed by public schools in South Africa. Many private schools also follow this curriculum. Some of these schools, however, are also “IEB” schools.

IEB (the Independent Examination Board) does not refer to a stand-alone curriculum. IEB schools generally use the CAPS curriculum as a guide but grade 12 students write an alternative matric examination that is administered by the IEB. In other words, students in CAPS and IEB schools will be taught similar content, but they will not write the same exam. Students from CAPS and IEB schools will all receive a National Senior Certificate when graduating from grade 12 – either the regular NSC or the IEB NSC. All South African assessment bodies (such as IEB) are monitored by Umalusi, which ensures that their curricula and assessments are appropriate.

IB (The International Baccalaureate) Diploma Programmeis designed as a mix of compulsory and elective subjects, it offers students comprehensive knowledge necessary for a holistic development. The IB Programme is a two year diploma. Students who are still unsure about the area/discipline/science they want to study usually choose the IB Diploma programme. Students foster this approach by studying natural and social sciences and languages, and they can decide which subjects are best tailored to their interests.

Cambridge International , on the other hand, is a stand-alone international curriculum.  Cambridge qualifications are monitored by the Cambridge Assessment International Education, part of – an organisation that provides world-leading academic research, learning and assessment globally, backed by the first-class teaching and research departments of the University of Cambridge.

CaPS, IEB and Cambridge curriculumn and objective comparison
  CAPS IEB Cambridge
Narrowly prescribed curriculumn Y Y  
Broadley described curriculumn     Y
Prescriptive resourcing Y Y  
Open resourcing     Y
Assessment of content Y Y  
Assessment of skill     Y
Content-driven instruction Y Y  
Enquiry-driven instruction     Y
Aimed at mass progression (lower pass requirement) Y Y  
Aimed at tertiary preparation (higher pass requirement)     Y
Wide subject exploration with less depth Y Y  
Narrow subject exploration with more depth     Y
Aimed at general literacy Y Y  
Aimed at academic literacy     Y
Options for non-academic progression (into TVET or employment) Y Y Y
Focused on academic progression (into university) particularly after IGCSE     Y